Arkansas Car Insurance
Arkansas is the not the biggest state in the country, and this is part of the appeal it has to the many people choose to live there. Little Rock is the largest city in the state, and other cities like Fort Smith, Fayetteville, Springdale, Conway, and others are popular places for people to live. From the city of Bentonville to Pine Bluff, people are getting around by car. Having a vehicle in the state of Arkansas is a large convenience. This convenience comes with auto insurance requirements that are mandated by the state, however. Failure to adhere to these laws can result in large fines, fees, and penalties. Due to this, knowing what the minimum requirements for car insurance in the state are is essential. Remember that many people do choose to purchase additional auto insurance policy types to protect themselves further if an accident or other situation occurs.
General provides free quotes from multiple companies so you can comparison shop and find the best prices for car insurance available. With many companies providing car insurance plans in the state, drivers have many options available to them. Learn more about the average cost for car insurance in Arkansas, the cheapest auto insurance providers in the state, the penalties for driving without insurance, and more.
Auto Insurance Requirements In Arkansas
The law in Arkansas requires drivers to maintain a minimum amount of liability coverage to be driving legally. Bodily injury liability coverage to other people is required in the amounts of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Property damage liability insurance coverage in the amounts of $25,000 per accident is also required. If you are at fault in an accident, you are responsible for paying for injury damages and property damages that you caused. Having a valid car insurance plan helps protect you financially if you are hit with these expenses. Other optional types of insurance are available as well, which are designed to further protect.
Some types of car insurance coverage protect you from the expenses related to the elements, and others protect you regardless of who is at fault for the situation. Some of the optional auto insurance plans people can purchase include collision insurance coverage, comprehensive insurance coverage, personal injury protection, uninsured motorist coverage, underinsured motorist coverage, rental reimbursement, lease gap insurance, and there are others as well. Keep in mind that different rules and regulations are in place for commercial vehicles. If you are using your vehicle for work in addition to personal use, check up on the laws in your state. Many auto insurance providers offer rideshare insurance as well, something to keep in mind if you are driving for a service.
Average Cost Of Coverage In Arkansas
Many variables affect what a person will pay for auto insurance. Rates in the state of Arkansas are just above the national average. At $1,450 per year, it is vital to keep in mind that the geography and location that you live at is not the only variable that can affect your rates. Some variables include marital status, gender, age, driving history, and credit rating. Things like a person’s driving history and credit rating can be improved upon over time, helping people save money on their auto insurance policies. There are other ways to pay less on premiums as well.
When considering what you will pay for car insurance, keep in mind that some people do purchase more insurance, while others purchase less. If you buy every type of car insurance plan available to you, you will be paying more than a person who only pays for the minimum required amount. Since a person is held responsible for the damages they cause if they are involved in an accident, it is a smart plan to purchase enough coverage to make sure you are financially taken care of if a crash occurs.
|Age||Average Premium (yearly)|
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies In Arkansas
Some of the top car insurance companies for good drivers in the state of Arkansas include Safeco, Geico, and Shelter. Drivers who do not have accidents or have not filed claims can often find lower rates for car insurance at specific companies like these. Those who are shopping for other things, like minimum coverage, can often find good quotes at Geico, State Farm, and Safeco. The formulas each company uses are different, leading to variation in prices over multiple companies. Comparison-shopping at least four companies is recommended to help you find the best prices for auto insurance.
Also, many people choose to get additional free auto insurance quotes each year. As a person’s driving record changes or changes are made to their credit score, marital status, and age, a person may find themselves buying a cheaper policy from a different provider.
|Rank||Company||Avg. Premium (annual)|
|5||Southern Farm Bureau||$1,385|
Unique Car Insurance Rules And Penalties In Arkansas
It is illegal to drive a car in the state of Arkansas without proper insurance coverage. If you are pulled over, you will need to provide proof of financial responsibility. This means drivers must maintain continuous auto insurance, and be able to prove that they have it throughout their registration period. Fines and fees can range between $50 and $1,000, depending on the specifics and whether it is a first, second, or third offense.
Drivers can also face license suspension and incarceration for multiple offenses.
|Violation||Avg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate||% Insurance Rate Increase||$ Insurance Rate Increase|
|Hit and Run||$2,285||53%||$788|
|Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test||$2,148||44%||$652|
|Driving with a Suspended License||$2,266||51%||$770|
|Driving with an Open Container||$2,043||37%||$547|
|Operating a Vehicle Without Permission||$1,847||23%||$350|
|Passing a School Bus||$1,967||31%||$471|
|Following Too Closely||$1,923||29%||$427|
|Failure to Stop at a Red Light||$1,842||23%||$346|
|Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane||$1,921||28%||$425|
|Failure to Yield||$1,842||23%||$346|
|Speeding in a School Zone||$1,811||21%||$315|
|Driving Too Slowly||$1,810||21%||$314|
|Driving with Expired Registration||$1,496||0%||$0|
|Failure to Show Documents||$1,496||0%||$0|
|Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint||$1,496||0%||$0|
|Failure to Wear a Seat Belt||$1,496||0%||$0|
|Driving Without Lights||$1,496||0%||$0|
How To Get The Cheapest Car Insurance In Arkansas
Getting free quotes from multiple companies is a fantastic way to shop around and save money on automobile insurance. General has free tools available that are convenient to access and can help in the process. Applying all of the discounts you qualify for to your plan can also help you lower premiums. Some people choose to raise their deductibles to save money on costs as well, but it is essential to be able to afford the deductible you choose. Until your deductible is paid out, your insurance policy will not cover your expenses, as listed in your policy. Get the best car insurance plans available at the top prices available at General.