Connecticut Car Insurance
Fines, fees, and penalties can add up to be a costly ordeal if you are a person driving without an insurance plan in Connecticut. There are also other penalties that drivers breaking the law by driving without a valid car insurance policy when driving in the state can face. Connecticut has processes in place so that the government knows when a person’s policy is canceled or lapses. Insurance providers in the state of Connecticut are required to inform the state if either of these things occurs. This means that the state knows when you have a valid insurance policy quickly. In order to avoid penalties, fees, and fines, maintaining a valid auto insurance plan is essential. In the state of Connecticut, drivers are required to have a minimum amount of coverage in order to operate motor vehicles legally.
Auto Insurance Requirements In Connecticut
Each state determines the requirements drivers in the state must meet in order to drive legally. While many states only require liability insurance coverage, Connecticut also requires an additional type of insurance to be added to the plan. In addition to liability insurance coverage in the minimum amounts, drivers in Connecticut must have the required amount of uninsured motorist coverage.
Connecticut does require two different types of liability insurance coverage. The minimum amount of bodily injury liability coverage mandated by the state is $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident. Many drivers do choose to get additional coverage for bodily injury liability coverage, as expenses above these amounts are required to be paid out-of-pocket if a driver is responsible for an accident. In addition, $10,000 per accident of property damage coverage is required. While most states require both of these types of liability insurance, uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage is also required. Connecticut requires both of these coverages in the amount of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.
The requirements in Connecticut for commercial vehicles and specialized cars may be different, so research is essential when it comes to these special situations.
Average Cost Of Coverage In Connecticut
In comparison to the national average expenses for car insurance, Connecticut has higher rates. Drivers can still find better rates in comparison to these averages though. Each provider uses different formulas to determine the rates a person pays for auto insurance with their company. Comparison shopping is essential because of this and can help people save a lot of money on their auto insurance plans. Getting quotes from at least four companies is recommended, including quotes from the cheapest auto insurance providers in your state.
The tools here at General can help you get quotes from the best car insurance companies in Connecticut. The average cost for car insurance in the state, annually, is just over $2,200. Some car insurance companies have lower rates than this on average, so finding the best starting point to save is ideal. General can help. Also, keep in mind that there are other types of automobile insurance coverages you may want to add to your plan, which also has an effect on what you pay. Many people choose to get collision insurance coverage, comprehensive insurance coverage, medical payments coverage, roadside assistance, and numerous other add-ons to their policy in order to protect themselves further financially.
|Age||Average Premium (yearly)|
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies In Connecticut
There is a long list of auto insurance providers that offer policies in Connecticut; finding multiple companies to get free car insurance quotes from is easy to do here. Starting with the cheapest auto insurance companies in the state, you increase your likelihood of finding the best prices for auto insurance to suit your needs. The tools at General let you get quotes from some of the top car insurance companies in the state, including Amico, Progressive, Geico, Nationwide, and State Farm. These companies provide the best rates for car insurance.
In addition to knowing which companies to get car insurance from, people moving in the state may take car insurance rates into consideration when looking for cities to move to. Essex and Mystic, for example, are lower than the state average when it comes to car insurance. More expensive cities in the state include Hartford, New Haven, and Bridgeport.
|Rank||Company||Avg. Premium (annual)|
Unique Car Insurance Rules And Penalties In Connecticut
Each state has different rules and penalties when it comes to driving without car insurance. Avoid hefty fines and fees by having a valid car insurance policy when you drive. People pulled over or caught driving without a car insurance plan that is valid can be fined up to $200 or more. In addition, their presence at a legal hearing may be mandated. Other penalties for driving without an insurance plan that is valid can include suspension of their vehicle registration or driver’s license.
Penalties can be more severe if you are involved in an accident. If you are pulled over by a police officer or involved in a car crash, you will be required to provide valid proof of insurance to the officer at the scene. Also, larger expenses can come from being held liable for the damages caused in an accident that is your fault. Drivers found to be at fault will be required to pay for property damage, medical bills, and other damages that stem from the accident. This can cost tens of thousands of dollars, which can be hard for people to make available.
|Violation||Avg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate||% Insurance Rate Increase||$ Insurance Rate Increase|
|Hit and Run||$3,011||94%||$1,461|
|Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test||$2,816||82%||$1,266|
|Driving with a Suspended License||$2,743||77%||$1,193|
|Driving with an Open Container||$2,337||51%||$787|
|Operating a Vehicle Without Permission||$1,874||21%||$324|
|Passing a School Bus||$1,900||23%||$350|
|Following Too Closely||$1,874||21%||$324|
|Failure to Stop at a Red Light||$1,874||21%||$324|
|Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane||$1,900||23%||$350|
|Failure to Yield||$1,874||21%||$324|
|Speeding in a School Zone||$1,899||23%||$349|
|Driving Too Slowly||$1,873||21%||$323|
|Driving with Expired Registration||$1,818||17%||$268|
|Failure to Show Documents||$1,818||17%||$268|
|Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint||$1,649||6%||$99|
|Failure to Wear a Seat Belt||$1,649||6%||$99|
|Driving Without Lights||$1,633||5%||$83|
How To Get The Cheapest Car Insurance In Connecticut
Saving money on automobile insurance starts with shopping around. Using the free quote tools on this website, you can get the best prices for car insurance from multiple companies. Keep in mind that you may qualify for various discounts as well. There are discounts for bundling multiple types of policies together, having multiple vehicles on one policy, having a good driving record, and paying in full at the start of your plan. General is here to help you find the best prices for auto insurance today. Using the tools here, get free car insurance quotes, and find the best prices.