Colorado Car Insurance
Colorado is a place of beauty, and many people travel to the state for vacation, work, family, and more. Scenic roads crisscross the state and are a perfect way to access the fantastic natural beauty. Regardless of your reasons for being in Colorado, having a vehicle is a massive convenience. While there are some areas in the state where people can choose to use public transportation, a car will make life a lot easier. Getting a free car insurance quote at General can help you save money if you need auto insurance in the state. Outside of this, there are rules, regulations, and penalties you should be aware of.
Having valid automobile insurance is required in the state of Colorado, and there are penalties for people who are caught. Drivers are required to present proof of insurance when they are pulled over, and also if they are in an accident. People who fail to do so can be hit with fines, fees, and penalties. Fines can reach up to $500. Also, there are other penalties that can have a significant effect on people’s lives.
Auto Insurance Requirements In Colorado
Colorado’s requirements include more types of insurance than some states mandate. Colorado requires bodily injury liability insurance, property damage liability insurance, uninsured motorist coverage, and medical payments insurance. Each of these types of insurance has minimum limits of some type. Drivers in the state are required to have minimum limits of $25,000 per person for bodily injury coverage, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury coverage, and $15,000 per accident of property damage coverage. In addition, uninsured motorist coverage is required in the amounts of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Unlike many states, Colorado also requires Medical Payments insurance. The minimum limit for Med Pay insurance is $5,000 per accident.
There are other types of car insurance available as well, which provide further financial protection in case an accident occurs. Other types of automobile insurance policies available include collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, roadside assistance, and more. If you are financing a vehicle, there is a chance that your lender will require you to carry both collision coverage and comprehensive coverage.
Average Cost Of Coverage In Colorado
The average cost for car insurance in the United States is above $1,500 per year. Until 2003, Colorado was considered a “no-fault” state due to its laws, but law changes were made to help reduce the cost of premiums and prevent claims abuses. In the state of Colorado, auto insurance policies can vary in average cost from one car insurance provider to the next. The average cost for automobile insurance coverage in Colorado is higher than the national average, though the policies do include more coverage at the lowest levels than other states.
Uninsured motorist coverage helps protect people if they are in an accident with somebody without adequate automobile insurance coverage; medical payments coverage also has benefits. To get the best prices on car insurance in Colorado, use the free quote tools here at General. By comparing rates from multiple companies, you can get the top prices for your specific situation.
|Age||Average Premium (yearly)|
Cheapest Car Insurance Companies In Colorado
Just having a car insurance policy can save you an immense amount of money through avoiding fines, fees, penalties, and having to pay for damages for accidents you are deemed to be at fault for in full. The cheapest auto insurance providers in the state of Colorado are USAA, Geico, State Farm, and Nationwide. Even though these may be the cheapest insurance providers in Colorado, on average, it is still important to get quotes from multiple companies and compare rates for policies. Each company uses different formulas to determine rates, so even companies that are higher on average can potentially offer you a lower rate. A person’s driving record, automobile discounts, credit score, and numerous other variables are used to determine rates.
|Rank||Company||Avg. Premium (annual)|
Unique Car Insurance Rules And Penalties In Colorado
If caught driving in the state without car insurance, a minimum penalty of $500 in fines and four points on your driver’s license will be applied. Points can lead to an increase in automobile insurance rates, so additional money is likely to be paid from higher premiums. In Colorado, a person’s driver’s license can also be suspended for driving without an insurance policy. Also, community service can be given for some violations.
There are ski rack requirements in the state of Colorado as well. Requirements exist both with the height of vehicles and for the visibility that a driver must have when operating a motor vehicle in the state. If a person fails to comply with these rules, they may be pulled over. If pulled over, you will be asked for your proof of insurance, registration, and more. Be aware that you check for obstructions of vision before you start driving. This means that equipment that is fastened to your vehicle needs to be both secure and that you can see well.
Even higher penalties can be administered for people who commit insurance fraud. Presenting a fake car insurance card can result in massive penalties too. People who are caught committing insurance fraud or presenting fake drivers' insurance information to the authorities will be reprimanded severely.
|Violation||Avg. Annual Auto Insurance Rate||% Insurance Rate Increase||$ Insurance Rate Increase|
|Hit and Run||$2,567||46%||$810|
|Refused Breathalyzer/Chemical Test||$2,358||34%||$601|
|Driving with a Suspended License||$2,434||39%||$677|
|Driving with an Open Container||$2,204||25%||$447|
|Operating a Vehicle Without Permission||$2,166||23%||$409|
|Passing a School Bus||$2,216||26%||$459|
|Following Too Closely||$2,135||22%||$378|
|Failure to Stop at a Red Light||$2,136||22%||$379|
|Driving Wrong Way/Wrong Lane||$2,116||20%||$359|
|Failure to Yield||$2,136||22%||$379|
|Speeding in a School Zone||$2,099||19%||$342|
|Driving Too Slowly||$2,097||19%||$340|
|Driving with Expired Registration||$1,841||5%||$84|
|Failure to Show Documents||$1,841||5%||$84|
|Failure to Use Child Safety Restraint||$1,779||1%||$22|
|Failure to Wear a Seat Belt||$1,759||0%||$2|
|Driving Without Lights||$1,779||1%||$22|
How To Get The Cheapest Car Insurance In Colorado
There are many tips people need to know to get the best prices for car insurance in Colorado. Finding the best car insurance rates in the state starts with shopping around to multiple companies. Since the variables auto insurance companies use when determining rates are different for each provider, it is recommended to get free car insurance quotes here at General to help you find the best prices and policies. Getting a hassle-free quote is easy to do here, and even if you are a high-risk driver, you can find the top prices.
People can also find discounts for car insurance. There are discounts for being a good driver, having multiple cars on your plan, purchasing multiple different types of insurance policies from one company, paying in advance, being a good student, and numerous others. Some automobile insurance providers offer more discounts than others, and sometimes you can get better rates from another company, one without any discounts added to your plan at all. This is why it is essential to comparison shop for car insurance.
Lastly, some people choose to save money by increasing their deductible or lowering the total amount of car insurance they have on their plan. Take care when doing this, as you need to be able to pay for the deductible on your auto insurance plan for it to pay out if needed. It is also essential to make sure that you have enough auto insurance coverage to cover expenses if you are found to be at fault in an accident. Get the policy you need, the coverages you need, and the best prices available at General. Free quotes for car insurance are available now.